Volvo, Genesis ACE IIHS test

For the 2022 model year, more automakers are building their cars to better tolerate and avoid accidents, according to the latest ratings released by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety on Thursday.

A total of 69 models have earned a 2022 Top Safety Peak + title, which is considered to be the strictest independent safety rating in the automotive industry. At this time last year, 49 models have gained acclaim. In the 2022 test, 36 more models achieved the next highest rating of Top Safety Peak, with a total of 105 models out of about 220 tested.

Every 2022 Volvo and Genesis model has achieved a TSP +, marking a rare sweep for brands, although with a lineup consisting of only five core models, it is easy to accomplish. Hyundai Motor Group, the parent company of Hyundai, Kia, and Genesis, has selected the highest overall safety with 11 TSP + and 10 TSP rewards.

Only seven of the 69 domestic models achieved the 2022 TSP +, while two pickup trucks, the Ram 1500 and the Ford F-150, picked up the TSP nodes.

Much like the five-star NCAP safety ratings administered by NHTSA, TSP titles are meant to streamline safety tests to give car buyers a standard baseline when evaluating vehicles. The ratings encourage car manufacturers to create safer cars.

IIHS President David Harky said in a statement: “Our awards make it easier for car buyers to find models that will protect them in accidents and increase the odds that they will never be one.” It shows that they are committed to the same goal. “

To achieve a TSP +, cars must receive top “good” ratings in six crash tests, including driver’s side and passenger side tests that mimic hitting a stationary object like a light pole head. Side effects, overall frontal effects, head obstruction, and rollover tests cover that part of the test.

IIHS Top Safety Peak Testing

IIHS Top Safety Peak Testing

“Our tests are designed to deal with real-world crash types that may not be reflected in government crash tests,” Joe Young, IIHS’s director of media relations, explained in an interview. “The original IIHS side crash test was designed to address concerns that the government’s side crash test does not capture all side crashes that occur in the real world. The SUV or pickup was designed to replicate the impact on a car. “

IIHS is a non-profit organization funded by the insurance industry, which has a business case to reduce the incidence and severity of car accidents.

There are other differences in ratings between the two crash-test agencies. In contrast to the NHTSA safety assessment, the IIHS rates the effectiveness of automatic emergency braking systems and headlight visibility.

“The need for headlight testing has arisen due to current regulations that allow for a wider range of headlight functionality,” Young said.

Automakers initially had a hard time meeting the headlight standards introduced in 2016, but compliance has grown as standards have become more stringent. To qualify for a TSP +, cars must have standard headlights that are “acceptable” or “good” in the IIHS test.

IIHS Top Safety Peak Testing

IIHS Top Safety Peak Testing

Additionally, a TSP + car must achieve “advanced” or “advanced” ratings in 12-mph and 25-mph tests to significantly slow down or avoid accidents with vehicles and pedestrians. An effective automatic emergency braking system slows or stops the rear-end collision, the most common crashes, and more sophisticated systems from hitting vehicles externally, such as a child running off the middle of a parked car or a speeding car. Perpendicular intersection

IIHS predicts that standard technology will prevent 42,000 crashes and halve the number of rear-end crashes by 2025. Major automakers have voluntarily pledged to equip at least 95% of new cars sold with AEB by September of this year. . To avoid prematurely punishing automakers, IIHS does not mandate AEB as the ideal tool for obtaining a TSP +.

Which is changing next year. The IIHS will add a nighttime pedestrian accident prevention element to the AEB rating and a TSP + designation will require an “advanced” or “advanced” rating. According to the IIHS, the number of pedestrian fatalities has increased by 51% since 2009. Additionally, to win any TSP award, the headlights must be at least “acceptable” across the rating board.

IIHS Top Safety Peak Testing

IIHS Top Safety Peak Testing

IIHS constantly resets security bars as more automakers meet or exceed TSP rewards requirements. In 2021, it updated the side crash test for the first time in almost 20 years. Imitating a T-Bone crash, the test was conducted at high speeds and with a heavy barrier to reflect the large SUVs and trucks that have been on the road for the past two decades. Beginning in 2023, new tests will require a “good” rating to achieve a TSP +.

Expect some TSP growing pains in the name of constantly evolving safety standards.

“We expect to see a reduction in the number of our award-winning cars in 2023,” Young said.

But it will make the car overall safer.

“Automakers continue to respond consistently when we introduce new tests and strengthen our rewards criteria,” Young said. “We hope they continue to improve crashability, front crash prevention and headlight options as they strive to achieve our safety award in 2023 under more stringent criteria.”

IIHS Top Safety Peak Testing

IIHS Top Safety Peak Testing

The full list of 2022 winners is below, and will be updated throughout the year:


Small cars and SUVs

Chevrolet Trailblazer
Ford Bronco Sport
Honda Civic sedan and hatchback
Honda Insight
Hyundai Tucson
Mazda 3 sedan and hatchback
Mazda CX-5
Mazda CX-50
Mitsubishi Outlander (built after June 2021)
Nissan is a rogue
Toyota Corolla sedan and hatchback
Subaru Crossstreak Hybrid
Volvo C40 Recharge
Volvo XC40 and XC40 recharge

The car

Honda compatibility
Kia K5
Kia Stinger
Nissan Ultima
Nissan Maxima
Subaru’s legacy
Subaru outback

Luxury car

Acura TLX
Audi A6 and A6 allroad
Audi A7
Genesis G70
Genesis G80
Genesis G90
Lexus IS350
Lexus IS
Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Tesla Model 3
Volvo S60 and S60 recharge
Volvo S90 and S90 recharge
Volvo V60 cross country
Volvo V90 cross country


Ford Explorer
Hyundai Palisade
Hyundai Santa Fe (built after July 2021)
Mazda CX-9
Nissan Murano
Subaru climb
Toyota Highlander
Volkswagen ID.4

Luxury SUV

Acura MDX
Acura RDX
Audi E-Tron and E-Tron Sportback
Audi Q5 and Q5 Sportback
Cadillac XT6
Genesis GV70
Genesis GV80
Hyundai Nexus
Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class
Tesla Model Y
Volvo XC60 and XC60 recharge
Volvo XC90 and XC90 recharge


Chrysler Pacifica
Honda Odyssey
Toyota Siena


Small cars and SUVs

Buick Encore GX
Ford Escape
Honda CR-V
Hyundai Elantra
Hyundai Venue
Kia Celtos
Kia Soul
Kia Sportage
Lexus UX
Lincoln Corsair
Nissan Centra
Subaru Crossstrake (with CVT)
Subaru Impreza (with CVT)
Toyota C-HR
Toyota Venja

The car

Hyundai Sonata
Toyota Avalon

Luxury car

Audi A4
Audi A5 Sportback
BMW 2-Series Gran Coupe
BMW 3-Series

SUV / minivan

Ford Edge
Ford Mustang Mach-e
Hyundai Santa Cruz
Kia Carnival
Kia Sorrento
Kia Telluride

Luxury SUV

Audi Q8
Lexus RX
Lincoln Aviator
Lincoln Nautilus
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class


Ford F-150 extended and crew cab
Ram 1500 Crew Cab

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.